International Relations Team

The team behind it all.

About Office Of IRAA and IRC

Office of International Relations & Alumni Affairs (IRAA) is the primary coordinating center for communication, events and other activities on behalf of the Dean, IRAA. The office is located in the Administrative Building of IIT (ISM), Dhanbad. The office, along with the Students' Alumni Cell and ISM Alumni Association (ISMAA), organizes the Annual Alumni Meet, Basant Samman, Distinguished Alumni Awards and other alumni related events. The office is launching programmes such as Serve Your Alma Matter/Student Mentorship Programmes for the overall institutional development, alumni connect and improved global ranking of the institute. The IRAA office strives to excel in International Relations & Alumni Affairs by creating an effective platform for the alumni, faculty and students of the institute.

An International Relation Cell (IRC) is established in the office of Dean (IRAA) to look after the smooth functioning of office with the sole objective of promoting internationalizing of IIT (ISM), Dhanbad. The IRC is headed by Prof. Dhiraj Kumar, Dean (IRAA) with Prof. Biswajit Chowdhury as Associate Dean (IRC), Prof. Gauri Shankar as Chairman of the Cell and Prof. Rashmi Ranjan Das and Prof. Piyali Sengupta as members of the Cell.

The primary activites are:

  • To promote relationships between foreign universities/institutions and IIT (ISM), Dhanbad to establish MoUs with them.
  • To create awareness amongst all stake-holders about all such MoUs.
  • To promote interantional short-term and long-term mobility for the students and faculty within the framework of IIT (ISM), Dhanbad.
  • To interface with the nodal minstry (MHRD), Ministry of External Affaits (MEA), and Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA), GoI and State Government offices on international activities of the institute.
  • To co-ordinate with Dean (Academic), Dean (R&D) and DSW in all international endeavour.
  • To administer the Interantional Hostel and to facilitate in-campus srtay of international participants.

TeamInternational Relations


Prof. R M Bhattacharjee

ProfessorDepartment of Mining Engineering
DeanInternational Relations and Alumni Affairs

Prof. Biswajit Chowdhury

ProfessorDepartment of Chemistry
Associate DeanInternational Relations

Prof. Gauri Shankar

Assistant ProfessorDepartment of Electrical Engineering
ChairpersonInternational Relations Cell

Piyali Sengupta

Assistant ProfessorDepartment of Civil Engineering
MemberInternational Relations Cell

Rashmi Ranjan Das

Assistant ProfessorDepartment of Mining Machinery Engineering
MemberInternational Relations Cell



Mr. Mritunjay Sharma

Assistant Registrar
International Relations

Student Representatives


Rishab Bhura

Petroleum engineering
Overall Coordinator, SAIRC


Engineering Physics
Coordinator, International Relations

Rahul Sinha

Applied Geophysics
Co-coordinator, International Relations

Aman Rawat

Computer Science and Engineering
Co-coordinator, International Relations
Accessibility Tools